BE A PLAYER

This picture was taken yesterday (Saturday) morning, at Picadilly Circus. I couldn’t believe my eyes. It’s from my shitty mobile phone of course, hence the superior quality…

Be a player

Picadilly Circus, London, 2nd Oct. 2010

Bodog is the company I worked for in Málaga. On my first week there, I went for lunch with some of my then new colleagues and ended up sitting across from a Swedish guy, who was pretty high up in the company, and was one in the long list of my superiors, to whom I on occasion was required to report directly to, despite the software company (as you can see here on my friends and former colleagues Christo’s blog) advertising itself as having a flat management structure…

So, anyway, I was chatting to my new boss and he asked me what I was hired to do at the company (Riplife Gaming Technologies) and I told him I was going to work developing the C++/MFC poker front end. I asked him what he does and he said… “Well, basically, I’m a player”. I immediately thought “wow, and a wanker to boot”, I mean, who calls themselves a Player? As it turns out, he meant he was a poker player (a professional one) who got involved in the online poker software racket because of his expertise. As it also turns out, he wasn’t a wanker, but a nice guy and his use of the word was just a misinterpretation from me.

In that case, what does the ad “BE A PLAYER” mean? Oh, I get it, it’s from the  clever marketing people in Canada. It has both meanings. They are fucken’ awesome these marketing people, I’m glad we’ve still got them and they didn’t heed Bill Hicks’ advice.

3 responses to “BE A PLAYER

  1. jeje, the amazing marketing people of Bodog…

    I am sure they can sleep like babies at night, knowing that people are losing thousands of dollars because of their ads… Otherwise how can we explain the amazing amount of the monthly earnings that they told us? 😛

    Still, impressed… In Picadilly?

  2. Bill Hicks .. timeless 🙂

    What do you think of: “Work hard, play harder” ? Please give us your hard-earned cash and work yourself into your grave?

    What’s worse lawyers or marketeers?

Leave a Reply

