Using the internet to talk about the internet (a hymn to the WWW)

“Man was born free, and everywhere he is in chains.”
– Jean-Jacques Rousseau, The Social Contract

I feel lucky to be living in these times of free-speech internet. I can still read articles such as this one on the Sarkozy-centred European Super State and watch a video such as this, on the US presidential elections charade.

It’s pretty amazing that the web of control hasn’t spread yet to entirely cover the www. I heard, in a fairly innocuous discussion a few days ago, that the Chinese Olympics were being broadcast around the world with images from one single source. Is it just a matter of the technology catching up for the net to follow a similar policy? I’m certain it is and it ain’t gonna take that long. In the meantime, we are being prepared to accept it as being for our own good by bombarding us with excuses such as this.

The importance of the internet is phenomenal. The more I think about it, the more I realise how amazingly lucky we are to have this freedom in a time when, rare exceptions apart, there is no free media.

Here’s a fantastic interview with a wonderful man. And a hopeful view from another great person who has the courage to say what should be common sense.

As Rousseau would’ve said: “Vive l’internet!“.

2 responses to “Using the internet to talk about the internet (a hymn to the WWW)

  1. Did you get the inspiration for this ode to the internet from Bubba’s recent discovery in dl? 🙂

  2. I would like to issue a public apology for Bubba’s behaviour. As I already told you in person, he means well. And furthermore, I definitely would’ve stopped him, if I had been present, but unfortunately I was in the toilet at the time. My sincerest apologies for any distress this may have caused you and your family and I’m sorry for the inconvenience. Kind regards, Spiros.

Leave a Reply

